Thursday, January 26, 2017

Seattle Schools Community Forum: URGENT: Levy Cliff Bill May Get a Vote on Saturday

Seattle Schools Community Forum: URGENT: Levy Cliff Bill May Get a Vote on Saturday:

URGENT: Levy Cliff Bill May Get a Vote on Saturday



The Dems in the Legislature have decided to go for broke.  From The News Tribune:

Sen. Marko Liias, D-Lynnwood, said Senate Democrats have identified ways they can bring legislation to the floor without the aid of Republican Senate leaders.

But Democrats are hoping that Republicans agree to bring up the measure, House Bill 1059, using the normal channels, so that such an action isn’t necessary, he said.
It appears that the vote would take place on Saturday.


Read more here: http://www.thenewstribune.com/news/politics-government/article128981024.html#storylink=
From Washington's Paramount Duty:

The State Senate will vote on Friday morning at 10AM on an important procedural motion that, if adopted, would allow a vote on the bill to delay the levy cliff soon afterward. We need to flood Senate offices with calls urging them to bring this bill, HB 1059, to the floor and then to vote yes on it.
Need to find your Senator or their phone number? Click here and urge your Senator to immediately pass the bill to delay the levy cliff!

If you need a script: “Hello, I am your constituent from [name your city or town]. I need you to vote to bring HB 1059 to the floor and vote for the bill. We must delay the levy cliff so that teachers don’t get fired and students don’t lose important classes and programs they need to succeed. I know you have the power to save our schools from financial peril and I need you to lead on this."

Call your Senator right now and urge them to immediately pass the bill to delay the levy cliff! Click here if you need to find your Senator or their phone number.

Below are some of the Senators who most urgently need to hear from the public. If even just one of them votes yes, the bill can pass and our schools will be saved from the levy cliff. If you or anyone you know lives in any of these legislative districts/areas, please ask them to call their Senator right now! 

 (Editor's note: Fain, Rivers, Schoesler are not going to flip; I would not bother with them.  Zeiger and Braun are good bets.) 

Hans Zeiger
25th LD: includes Puyallup, Fife 
360 786-7648
hans.zeiger@leg.wa.gov

John Braun
20th LD: includes Chehalis, Centralia, Castle Rock
360 786-7638 
john.braun@leg.wa.gov

Joe Fain
47th LD: includes Auburn, Kent, Renton, Covington, Federal Way
360 786-7692
joe.fain@leg.wa.gov

Ann Rivers
18th LD: includes Vancouver, Ridgefield, Camas, Battle Ground, Washougal, La Center, Hockinson 
360 786-7634
ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Mark Miloscia 
30th LD: includes Algona, Auburn, Des Moines, Federal Way, Milton, Pacific
360 786-7658
mark.miloscia@leg.wa.gov

Jan Angel
26th LD: includes Bremerton, Port Orchard, Gig Harbor, Lakebay, Purdy
360 786-7650
jan.angel@leg.wa.gov

Dino Rossi
45th LD: includes Redmond, Kirkland, Sammamish, Woodinville, Duvall
360 786-7672 
dino.rossi@leg.wa.gov

Maureen Walsh
16th LD: includes Walla Walla, Prosser, Horse Heaven
360 786-7630
maureen.walsh@leg.wa.gov

Mark Schoesler
9th LD: includes Ritzville, Pullman, Colfax, St. John, Asotin
360 786-7620
mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov

Phil Fortunato
31st LD: includes Enumclaw, Buckley, Bonney Lake, Auburn, Sumner, Edgewood, South Prairie, Wilkeson and Carbonado
360 786-7660
phil.fortunato@leg.wa.gov

Brad Hawkins
12th LD: includes Wenatchee, East Wenatchee, Twisp, Winthrop, Leavenworth
360 786-7622
brad.hawkins@leg.wa.gov

Randi Becker
2nd LD: includes Eatonville, Yelm, Orting, Graham, Roy, Rainier
360 786-7602 305 
randi.becker@leg.wa.gov

Lynda Wilson
17th LD: includes Brush Prairie, Orchards, Cascade Park East (Clark County)
360 786-7632
lynda.wilson@leg.wa.gov

Curtis King
14th LD: includes Stevenson, White Salmon, Naches, Goldendale, Tieton, Roosevelt
360 786-7626
curtis.king@leg.wa.gov

Barbara Bailey
10th LD: includes Stanwood, Camamo Island, Whidbey Island, Oak Harbor, La Connor
360 786-7618
barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov




 Seattle Schools Community Forum: URGENT: Levy Cliff Bill May Get a Vote on Saturday:

LATEST NEWS AND COMMENT FROM EDUCATION

LATEST NEWS AND COMMENT FROM EDUCATION
EduBloggers

Latest News and Comment from Education